Press Release PR005 – Three wins for David Schneider in FF Zetec class at FFR-FOR debut at Hockenheim

Hockenheim (Germany), Achel (Belgium), 21 September 2021 – David Schneider from Switzerland made an impressive FFR-FOR debut last weekend in his Mygale SJ01. He won three times in the Formula Ford Zetec class at Hockenheim during the ADAC Racing Weekend.

Photo: Frank Richter

Under the banner of the AvD Historic race Cup the FFR-FOR had joined forces again with the HRA, bringing 34 classic single seaters on the track. With the HRA and FFR-FOR starting in two separate groups, Marvin Brandl (GER) took first place in the Formula Opel class, with an impressive fourth lap time behind three HRA Formula 3 cars. In the FF 2000 class Max Wuttke (GER) was a clear winner while Klaus-Dieter Häckel (GER) dominated the FF 1600 class, followed by Matthew Dean (GBR) and Roel Mulder (NED).

The second race on Saturday, which unfortunately had to be terminated early as track time ended, saw plenty of action. In the Formula Opel class Jochen Thissen (GER) claimed second place behind Marvin Brandl, starting from the 14th place on the grid after suffering mechanical issues in the first race. Equally impressive was Jo Zosso (CHE) in his Ray GR Z98. Coming from the 15th place on the grid after his throttle cable broke in race 1, he was a close second in the FF Zetec class behind David Schneider. Alan Williamson (GBR) won the FF 2000 class after Max Wuttke, who was in the lead, decided to pull into the pit due to spongy brakes, while Klaus-Dieter Häckel scored another win in the FF 1600 class.

Race three was offered as a race without championship classification and 24 drivers took the chance to complete another 20 minutes of racing at the Hockenheimring. This time, both the HRA and FFR-FOR participants started in a single starting group. HRA driver Elio Cocciarelli managed to secure first place with a Formula 3 car, after beating Marvin Brandl in his Formula Opel. Bernd Suckow and Jochen Thissen, also driving Formula Opel cars, finished in third and fourth position. Klaus Dieter Häckel (FF 1600), Max Wuttke (FF 2000) and David Schneider (FF Zetec) were able to celebrate another class victory on Sunday. The next racing event, the last of the 2021 season, will see the HRA and FFR-FOR again at the Nürburgring during the Westphalia Trophy from 15 to 17 October.